PDA

View Full Version : Awd To Fwd

88 silicar
04-07-2006, 12:49 AM
Can anyone tell me what this meens:-
MR2 turbo differential (open, OEM Toyota VLSD, aftermarket LSD)

And this:_
1 set of inner MR2 axle with passenger axle carrier (get LSD inner axles if going with the OEM Toyota MR2 turbo VLSD unit).

Bob

Morwan
04-07-2006, 03:24 AM
Both of the output shafts will always rotate at the same velocity with an open differential. LSD's allow for a limited amount of velocity difference. In the case of a viscous coupled LSD, the resistance of a viscous fluid is used to limit this amount. Other types of LSDs typically use some sort of clutch which engages to limit slip.

Are you converting an Alltrac tranny to FWD?

88 silicar
04-07-2006, 03:44 AM
Yeh, Ive got an AWD box from an ST 205 that i want to convert to FWD. I read Torns thread on that mod, He made it sound pretty easy to do.
In my case i have never done it before, but, im pretty good at figuring things out. I just dont know what id have to ask for when i buy the parts.

2.2-Past you
04-07-2006, 05:36 AM
I am in the EXACT SAME situation. Yet my problem is a little different. I am in need of those crucial AWD > FWD conversion parts.

I am looking to buy IMMEDIATELY the following:

-MR2 turbo (LSD) differential
-MR2 differential cover.
-Speedometer drive for the differential (not mandatory, as I understand)
-1 set of inner MR2 axles (LSD subaxles) with passenger axle carrier

if anyone has or knows who has these laying around, I'll turn them into cash, please email: whyamimelting@yahoo.com

Punisher
04-07-2006, 06:20 AM
If you don't find anyone selling that stuff, call up 1sttoyota

www.1sttoyotaparts.com

I believe.. The differential w/ case was like 230.00 bucks..

88 silicar
04-07-2006, 09:44 AM
Im taking a different path now. I went out and bought a E153 box out of a Camry V6 today.These boxes are pretty rare here in Aust so i was pretty lucky to find one. Now i have to try and find Camry Axle inner stubs.