PDA

View Full Version : 2000 GTS Suggestions Please...

fyathyrio8
03-13-2006, 06:52 PM
As the title implies, I have a 2000 Celica GTS. I currently have done no modifications to the car, but am now looking to start little by little. I need some suggestions as far as what to do first. Keep in mind that I am not a millionaire and that I intend to keep her naturally aspirated. A lot of people start off with two things: intake, and exhasut. Do these two things give the best bang for your buck though? I am a novice and would like to learn as much as I can. Any help is greatly appreciated.
Thanks,
Mike

=cJ=
03-13-2006, 10:41 PM
AFAIK yes, a decent exhaust's a good place to start, as is intake.

Intake is an interesting one, as it seems it will have less effect on a N/A car then a chuuurbo. However, still a good mod as long as you do it cheaply enough.

Have a look at here (http://mkiv.com/techarticles/filters_test/2/) for some interesting stuff about pod filters.

ciento44
03-14-2006, 03:32 AM
i/h/e FTW

Edicius
03-14-2006, 03:52 AM
First off, don't spend $200+ on an AEM or Injen intake. Not worth it. Get a replica off eBay and buy a nice filter. 7th gens also have a pretty good aftermarket for headers and exhausts. The Apexi Power FC is a good idea too, http://elisetalk.com/forums/showthread.php?t=9248 shows pretty good results with just intake and the power FC.

fyathyrio8
03-14-2006, 05:30 PM
Who wants to buy me one? They are almost a thousand dollars from what I have seen -- not exactly cost effective. Unless I am looking at the wrong thing... Any other suggestions that wouldn't send me to the homeless shelter for food? An intake will help some, but not much. Come on guys... a little help...

T-spoon
03-14-2006, 10:33 PM