PDA

View Full Version : Gas milage problem found. I think



needhelpnow67
02-03-2006, 01:23 AM
Ok I just tested the o2 sensor, it was fine itself however I have new problems.

The test I did where in the online BGB and it Came back as , voltage pulses=none , Voltage between e1 and vf1=2.32. there are supposed to be 8 or more pulses and 0 volts. ( for the hell of it i rested the resistance of the wire to the ecu from the o2 sensor and it camer back as like 2.3 m ohm)

There are no codes and the cel does not come on even when the 02 sensor is disconected. There is no diff. when the car has or does not have the o2 sensor in idle and rev.( never drove it without it). What do you guys think?
Whats wrong with my car.. :(

Punisher
02-03-2006, 05:19 AM
Well, I drove for a half of a day with the O2 unplugged.. it didn't seem any difference and it took that long for the CEL to come on. Hell, I even had CEL NOT COME ON and no difference in driving when I disconnected the TPS and drove around!

acidice333
02-03-2006, 08:29 AM
Isnt there like two modes for CEL?

The default isn't that sensitive but when doing it in mode 2, its more sensitive and it requires you to drive.

KoreanJoey
02-03-2006, 10:13 AM
CEL light won't come on but if you check codes it'll show up.

needhelpnow67
02-03-2006, 12:47 PM
Ill put it in mode 2, and run it without the o2 sensor. But i cheaked for codes and none came out.

alltracman78
02-03-2006, 02:14 PM
Isnt there like two modes for CEL?

The default isn't that sensitive but when doing it in mode 2, its more sensitive and it requires you to drive.

No good for him.
It's only for 92 ^ ecus....
For the A engines, you have to drive around.
For the S engines, you jump TE1 and E2, and drive around.
Both require very specific driving patterns....

needhelpnow67
02-03-2006, 09:03 PM
Go figure, i tryed putting it in mode 2 and it didnt work. So Whats up with my o2 sensor? try leaving it unplug fora while and see if my milage improves or worsens still or until the cel light comes on? I wish i would have known that only 92 and up could do that. i was fussing with it all morning.

KoreanJoey
02-03-2006, 09:50 PM
no, driving with bad or no O2 can plug up your cat pretty fast.

needhelpnow67
02-03-2006, 10:32 PM
Think I should just try and throw the 44$ into a new o2 it and see if that helps?

Also my evap purge line was disconected a long wile back. and my bi-metal valve is broken so I just conected it to the purge port on the throttle body. Would that drop my gas milage to 18 or 19? I dont think so...

VikingJZ
02-03-2006, 11:49 PM
I need to replace my O2 sensor too, but I have a shit of other things to repair.

alltracman78
02-04-2006, 03:40 AM
Think I should just try and throw the 44$ into a new o2 it and see if that helps?

Also my evap purge line was disconected a long wile back. and my bi-metal valve is broken so I just conected it to the purge port on the throttle body. Would that drop my gas milage to 18 or 19? I dont think so...
Pretty much every early EFI Toyota has that sensor.
Go pick one up at a junkyard.

Kingsoup
02-06-2006, 02:36 PM
Seems hard to directly diagnose a bad O2 eh? I don't get great milage either, the fellow before me seems to have replaced the O2, but its not throwing codes.

Can't quite figure a way to easily replace it eh? Perhaps time to weld on a bung and get a cheap Planer VW o2 eh?

alltracman78
02-08-2006, 12:05 AM
If you're looking for cheap, get a universal O2. It will thread right into the old flange....

needhelpnow67
02-08-2006, 12:57 PM
I gess ill get the new O2, If it dont work, at least it rules out the 02 so we can move on. there not to $$ like 44 dollars.

needhelpnow67
02-15-2006, 04:37 AM
I thought Id just let every body know that the O2 sensor was my Problem. I used to get some 18 to the gallon. Now I get 21. Thanks for all that helped