PDA

View Full Version : Shifter cables... uh, how do they fit?



kpdvx
01-14-2006, 09:30 PM
Found a 5th gen ST at a junk yard, so desperately needing parts for my GT (manual conversion) I pulled the shifter cables. The main difference I've found appears to be the thickness of the "round metal sleeve thing" that attaches with a clip to the transmission. Oh, and this weird gap. A picture is worth a thousand words, so here's three thousand. Is this normal, and how do I connect it, or do I just have the wrong cables? Oh, and apparently the passenger's side transmission mount is different on the ST than it is on the GT (C52 vs S53 transmission).

http://www.skylerslade.us/pictures/trans1.jpg

http://www.skylerslade.us/pictures/trans2.jpg

http://www.skylerslade.us/pictures/trans3.jpg

kpdvx
01-14-2006, 09:31 PM
Uh, ya, I thought I was posting this in the 5th gen forum. If someone wants to move it, go ahead.

Keoni
01-14-2006, 10:51 PM
the linkage looks bent... that happened to my S53 tranny when i pulled the motor out and the linkage got hung up on something. i would heat it up and bend it back into position or get another linkage from another S53/54 tranny.

And yes the passenger side mount on the ST is different than the GT. But the passenger side deals with the engine mount not the tranny mount unless you have RHD celica. The ST mount needs to either be cut off the frame/engine bay and re-welded to match the GT/GTS/All-trac location or a bracket needs to be fabricated to the insulated mount.

kpdvx
01-14-2006, 11:09 PM
"The linkage looks bent" as in the shifter cables, or the selecting bellcrank? And oops, I misspoke in my original post- I meant to say that the driver's side mount is different, which is unfortunate because they're $78 new and I got one from the yard for just a few dollars :(.

Keoni
01-15-2006, 12:15 AM
do you see where the shifter cable end is suppose to go onto the linkage then you put the cotter pin to hold the shifter cable onto the linkage? Well that one piece that you are having a problem with not lining up is too far down meaning that it was accidentally bent down. if you look at the linkage its almost going to interfere with the driver side axle boot b/c its too low. After looking at it more closely you can actually see where the bend is! You see where the linkage is bolted to the top of the tranny, its bent about and 1 1/2" from it. The same thing happened with my original GTS S53 tranny when I pulled it out, the linkage got caught on something and I just kept pumping the engine hoist untill the car started to lift up too. Then I looked and saw that the linkage was hung up so I let it back down and then lifted it back up clearing the the engine bay. But the linkage was bent exactly like that. So, that is why it does not line up with the shifter cable. Wherever you got the tranny from, I would call them up and tell them to replace that linkage or at least help to fix it.

I have a picture here of my GT tranny but its not too good of a picture to see what I mean... if you look closely at the shifter linkage on the bell crank of the tranny, do you see how the two hook ups where the shifter cable ends go are almost the same level or lined up with eachother?
http://i18.photobucket.com/albums/b134/Keoni90gts/S53Tranny1.jpg

if you bend it back into position make sure that it sets into the slot on the other linkage on the bell crank so that it actuates it. If you bend it back and its not like it should be you will only be able to shift into 3rd and 4th gear. I will try to get a closer picture of my extra S53 tranny later to help you out.

kpdvx
01-15-2006, 02:43 AM
I think I might have fixed it. Everything seems to line up OK now. Pictures included, let me know if this looks good.

http://www.skylerslade.us/pictures/trans4.jpg

http://www.skylerslade.us/pictures/trans7.jpg

http://www.skylerslade.us/pictures/trans8.jpg

Keoni
01-15-2006, 04:41 AM
Awesome!!! That looks good man, how did you bend it back into place? Also what year celica is that tranny from, it looks really clean?

kpdvx
01-15-2006, 05:16 AM
Thanks :). Bent it with a crescent wrench, twisting it with a peice of rebarb through the hole on the end of the wrench. The transmission is from a 93 GTS. Bought it from LKQ- has around 70,000 miles on it. I'm guessing they powerwashed it when they put it in stock. On a related question, like I mentioned before, the only visible difference between the GT and ST shift and range cables are the large round metal pieces that actually attatch to the transmission, held in by a clip. One of the cables from the ST (the range cable I believe... cant remember at the moment) fits perfectly, but the other cable has too much metal on it preventing it from going through the hole enough so I can attach the clip. Since none of my other contacts have been able to get me GT cables, and I don't feel like paying Toyota close to $300 to get the cables new, I was wanting to use these ST cables. I think I'll file down some of the metal on the one cable, and use the other cable as is. Do you know of any differences between the GT and ST cables? If there are differences in how they actually attach to the shifter assembly, that shouldn't be a problem because I grabbed an ST shifter from the yard as well (in addition to the GT shifter I located elsewhere). Any caveats in using the ST cables?

Keoni
01-15-2006, 06:34 PM
I am not too sure if there any differences between the ST and GT cables. I know that the GT and the All-trac cables are different in legnth. You should ask GRUMPY514. He did the swap with his 92 or 93 ST but I am not sure if he already had a Manual or if he converted from Auto. I have an extra set of 1990 GTS cables but one of them I had to use the cable end for the ST165 cables I used for the V6 Solara tranny.

I cut off one of the cable ends near the shifter of the GTS cable and welded it onto the ST165 cable end so it would be the correct length. I could send you the set of GTS cables and the ST165 cable that I had modified and you can put it back to how it is suppose to be,an exhaust shop should be able to weld it back, just pay for shipping costs. I am trying to get rid of things anyways around here.