PDA

View Full Version : A 3Sge into a 5SFE...Help!!!



caKes
01-09-2006, 06:49 PM
ok im buying a 5sfe for my 86 gts...i was just wondering i f anyone could tell me what special mods i need to do or get before i can to this...like ecu? wiring harness? and...?

kpdvx
01-09-2006, 10:16 PM
Well did the 86 gts originally have a 5SFE?

caKes
01-09-2006, 10:54 PM
no it had a 3sge

kpdvx
01-10-2006, 02:01 AM
Well in that case you'll need a 5SFE ECU and wiring harness. I'm almost certain you'll need those... and you might need to do some rewiring for other reasons, but I'm not too clear on that. Might want to talk to Dr. Tweak about that.

angryyoungnpoor
01-10-2006, 04:20 AM
The transmission will bolt up, the motor mounts will bolt up. You need the engine/harness/ecu/alternator, and everything else associated on the motor. IT's just like a normal swap. Except that you'll be downgrading.

Rick89GTS
01-10-2006, 06:54 AM
.....IT's just like a normal swap. Except that you'll be downgrading.
I agree. Any special reason you're going with the 5SFE over the stock 3SGE?

caKes
01-10-2006, 07:44 AM
well i cant find a cheap 3sge...so im going with the 5sfe...im paying 175 for it....so! if you guys know where i can find a 3sge for 175...im only doing this for right now to get it running so i can drive it...after a while i want to do the 3sgte swap!

caKes
01-10-2006, 08:31 AM
ohh...and will my t-vis intake and injectors from my 3sge fit on the 5sfe/will it be faster at all?

alltracman78
01-10-2006, 05:04 PM
Unless you bolt the whole head up [which you can do], your intake manifold and inj are useless....

If you put the 3SGE head on, it will make more power, but I'm not sure how long the 5S rods will be able to handle the 3SGE redline...