PDA

View Full Version : Weight reduction...hood?

Flat_Tire_72GTO
12-05-2005, 03:53 AM
My 90 gt-s weighs in a few hundred pounds above factory specs, and that's a big no-no for me. Running with a stock engine and all, it's not giving me the go I want. So I'm looking at cheap ways to getting up to speed. I'm no mechanical genius, and this is my daily driver, so any work that would leave my car out in the rain for over two days is out of the question. What would you have to say about a fiberglass hood? Yes I'm aware of the raised eyebrows regarding safety concerns. I can always cut out the braces from an original hood and mold them into the glass. So what would be the best way to go about on this? Pins? Latch? Scoop? Cowl? I was originally thinking of making an identical mould from a stock hood....cutting away here and there to make room for an inverted scoop (with mesh ofcoarse, might as well go all out). Has it been done, and what's your guys' intake on this? Good? Bad? or just plain stupid?

TEAMFaint
12-05-2005, 04:14 AM
Ever think of maybe just going with a stock OEM VIS hood? They weigh about 5 pounds or so and reduce a LOT of weight! A fibreglass hood would be an interested idea, and could possibly work very well, you would just need to make sure that it is latched on very secure and possibly hood pins might help.

Flat_Tire_72GTO
12-05-2005, 10:17 AM
Yeah I already looked into that, ebay has my selection going for about $450-600 US, whereas I can make my own hood for less then $200 Can. Hey I'm just a student fresh out of highschool, give me a break.

surfergravity
12-05-2005, 01:25 PM
With all the time spent making your own hood, then retro-fitting it to your car...you probably could have saved enough money to buy yourself a CF hood. Just my $0.02

TEAMFaint
12-05-2005, 08:44 PM
If you check out www.andysautosport.com or www.onderground-design.com they got CF hoods for our car for pretty decent deal.

Snafu
12-06-2005, 01:40 AM