PDA

View Full Version : 4afte



celica90st
10-27-2005, 04:09 PM
how hard would it be to mate the fe head to the gze block? or should i just put the rods and pistons in the Fe? around how much hp would it be and how much boost can i run?

Dr Tweak
10-29-2005, 05:07 AM
Putting the 4AFE head on the GZE block is an exercise in futility, it would be far better to just swap over a whole 4AGZE, or get a rebuild kit for the 4A with low compression pistons, such as the ones available from www.importperformanceparts.net

-Doc

magik06
10-29-2005, 04:49 PM
put the gze internals in the 4afe

Dr Tweak
10-30-2005, 03:44 AM
put the gze internals in the 4afe

That won't work either, sadly.

alltracman78
10-30-2005, 05:28 PM
Why exactly do you want to put all this time/effort/$$ into a F series head?
Just source a G series one.

celica90st
12-13-2005, 04:37 PM
can i bolt on a G series head with no problem? because i have a 4age lying around, engine and tranny, plus wire harness with axles and everything, so if i was to mate that head to my f series block, how high would it rev and would i need another ecu or anything?

Colossus20v
12-13-2005, 04:41 PM
can i bolt on a G series head with no problem?
no. You have to rewire and you need the ecu for the engine.

What are your plans? Snafu turbo'd his 4afe with some nice results. Made for a nice DD I guess. You could swap a 4age, 4agze, 4age 20v, or just go all out and do the 3sgte swap. It all depends on what you want.

magik06
12-13-2005, 04:59 PM
you can swap the 4afe head to a gze, but you gonna be changing pulleys an timing belt. it will be time consuming. but i would just go with the fulll gze swap if you were going to do that .

celica90st
12-14-2005, 02:18 AM
makes sence.. but is it difficult to mount that head onto the block? and how hard is the wireing? because i have the engine just laying in my garage you know. the car is already turbo but needs fuel manag and intercooler piping so im not sure to continute with the project or to do a head swap or whatever

magik06
12-14-2005, 07:22 AM
you haave a 4agze lying in your garage?

Dr Tweak
12-14-2005, 07:33 AM
makes sence.. but is it difficult to mount that head onto the block? and how hard is the wireing? because i have the engine just laying in my garage you know. the car is already turbo but needs fuel manag and intercooler piping so im not sure to continute with the project or to do a head swap or whatever

There's a thread that I wrote on here title "Engine swap wiring secrets revealed", check it out for an idea.

You can send the wiring to me and I can do it for $350 shipped.

-Doc

celica90st
12-14-2005, 04:41 PM
send you the Mr2 wire harness to you? with the 4ag harness? would it be a plug and play setup? let me know when u get a chance. thanks