PDA

View Full Version : JDM ECU Vs. US/CA ECU 3SGTE! QUESTIONS



GRUMPY514
10-15-2005, 06:43 AM
Yooooo i just came across a celica guy at meet today and he has two JDM ECU's and iam thinking about buying one of them since i heard they give more HP a pretty decent amount. he said he would sell it for around 200$ Is this cheap? Ive come to notice that they are hard to find .


What should i expect in changing to a Jap Spec ECU from a US/CA (All trac) ECU? How much HP should i expect? 5-30? gains. and what does this exactly do to my car would it fuck it up in anyway? My car runs good right now will it make it run like pure shite? Like would i need for car to be Tuned with a SAFCII to make it run right?

What exactly is diff bout tha Jap spec ECU and how can you tell it from a US ECU. Arnt the prong places like lime green compared to the US ECU ?




::OFFTOPIC::

Raced some civic today at the meet just for shites and gigglez it was me my friend in his (91' TSI AWD Talon=16G turbo/3" Exaust/Intake/FMIC) and my friends GSR 97 Integra.......Well we were just chillin at car show talkin to some spanish people like usual and it seems most every turbo car was owned by someone spanish SOOOOO here this civic pulls in like an almost bronze color body kit/rear and front lights/big ass front mount with water cooler on it/CF hood with Mexican flag airbrushed on it lol and gauges galore......Vtec controller,boost controller and such WELLLL this guy tried to bull shite and said it was a stock LS Turbo...so we decided to give him a run for his money and got on a nice stretch of road on way home Got side to side going about 40mph and hit it JESUS was his car loud and smoked like krazy...Well let me be the 1st to say it wasnt nearly stock. had a LITTLE SOMTHIN SOMTHIN under the hood. I could Obviously hear VTEC hit in and turbo spool lets just say i stayed about car ahead or less whole race up to 140ishmph and then slowed down........I was only in 4th gear going 140ish didnt even touch 5th gear....Come to find out it was like a fully built H22/turbo/HKS SSQV a whole shite lot of mods. One of best races we actually ever had.....Come to find out i havnt raced a car with longer gears than mine.....Always people switch in middle of other gear and we are just about to switch.....

I can understand Hondas ratios are closer due to vtec and such but even the DSM is closer than ours by a lot


3d Gear in a 3sgte is OFICALLY HOLY!!!!3d gear it pulls soooooo nicely people get blown away once we hit 3d....

We also raced the talon on way back too. it was about 1/2 car ahead of us then 3d gear of course we started pulling :) GREAT NIGHT i must say... :bigthumbu

xeril
10-15-2005, 08:15 AM
you can tell whether its jdm by checking out the color of the writing on the outside of the ecu. i think the american ones are red, and the jdm ones are blue or purple or some color like that. are you using a jdm or usdm wiring harness? i'm thinking about picking up a jdm ecu sometime soon as well, but i wouldn't pay 200$ for one. you can easily pick one up for around 120$ (and i've even seen them go for around 50-60$ as well). sooo, i'd shop around a little more if i were you.

Punisher
10-15-2005, 08:44 AM
Grumpy, what transmission are you running?

The JDM ECU basically runs a more aggressive fuel/timing map to get more power. It'll work on your USDM motor as far as I know, you will have to get wiring diagrams tho I believe.. plugs are different on the 2 ECU's.. I think..

alltracman78
10-15-2005, 03:22 PM
Plugs are identical.
You need to know what year your ecu is, and what year that ecu is.
Is it from a MR2 or GT4?

I've got a JDM 93 MR2 ecu in my car. Plugged right in.
It doesn't heat the O2 sensor tho, so you're basically back to a one wire sensor.

GRUMPY514
10-15-2005, 05:21 PM
Alright well what kind of gains should i expekt to see out of ECU swapping?

What would i need to change if anything to my car by switching out ECU? Meaning will it run like shite?

alltracman78
10-15-2005, 05:28 PM
If wired correctly, it will run fine. On 93 pump gas at that...
Since JDM 2nd g 3S are rated at 225hp, and ours are rated at 200hp, you do the math...
The pwr is all in the ecu.

You NEED to find out what year ecu you have, and what year/model he has. The pins ARE DIFFERENT.....

GRUMPY514
10-15-2005, 05:48 PM
Alright well guy i talked to just a seccond ago said he had 3 of them buy sold 1 now he has to think about selling the other he said just make sure the years are right and car is right like you said so the pins match up and there shouldnt be a problem at all fuel wise he just said he is have the samg problem as i was having with the car bogging/missfiring so he was on his way to change the Ignition shite so it will go away i changed the plugs and dizzy cap on mine and it dosent missfire or bog at all now which is very good thing and i got c a pair of nology plug wires on their way so iam going to be seeing a nice performance gain with thoes and the ignition coil that will be orderd soon.


Anyone selling a JDM ecu :) how much should i pay for these and what shouldnt i pay.

alltracman78
10-16-2005, 01:04 AM
$200 is a little high....
1 to 150 is what they normally go for.
Have you looked on ebay?

GRUMPY514
10-16-2005, 06:23 AM
Alright wellllllll iam looking around now hopefully if i get it there wont be no problems with the fueling or anything ...Anyproblems at all

Punisher
10-16-2005, 06:31 AM
Well, don't kick yourself, err kick yourself in the head for thinking that buying a set of wires that costs 200 dollars will make your shit faster.

GlHlOST
10-16-2005, 07:29 AM
OK I know this thread is about ECUs and I dont wanna get offtopic nor do I want any1 to follow up on this comment....
I'm sorry I just have to blow the horn on this 1, correct me if I'm wrong,


I was only in 4th gear going 140ish didnt even touch 5th gear

:stupid: To think any1 on this site would believe that any1 was doing 140 in a 5th gen without ever touching 5th gear is ridiculous... ::cough:: ::cough:: BULLSHIT...
that would mean you must top out sumwhere around 180... Sorry but I had to blow the BULLSHIT horn on that 1. :owned:

What did you do, put a JJZ engine in yours? :laugh:

GRUMPY514
10-16-2005, 04:29 PM
Uhhh wow do you yourself have a 3s? If you do ok........Now if you dont u have no room to speak. 3d gear goes to 100-110 at 6700rpms sooo if my 4th gear cant touch 130ish 140 THAT is bullshite.....Im guessing the car can go about 160mph we never really tried to go this fast or go into 5th gear punching it...........If you think it is really bull shite hop on a plane over to Nothern VA and you will be on the ride of your

Let me guess you can only get your car to up say...94mph?

ANOTHER THING there was 2 people in the car BELIEVE IT.............OR NOT :D

angryyoungnpoor
10-16-2005, 05:52 PM
I believe it.. I guess. *shrugs* depends on the tranny, and ghost, look at oneof81's sig.. picture of him doing 175 mph. Don't call BS on stuff you don't understand.

Punisher
10-16-2005, 06:25 PM
I think you should all STFU!!! :hehe:

GRUMPY514
10-16-2005, 09:54 PM
V6 Camary Tranny

alltracman78
10-16-2005, 10:04 PM
An Alltrac tops out at I believe 148.
That is with a 200 hp 3SGTE, 300 + lbs more, and much lower final drive than either fwd transmisson........
And 3rd gear tops at ~ 85mph, so it's definitly possible......

JDM185
10-17-2005, 12:22 AM
there is a few ecu's on at the moment..

GRUMPY514
10-17-2005, 12:27 AM
Thank you alltrac--Yes its deff possible espically with

3" turbo back W/Stright pipe
Header
v6 Camary Tranny
50 Trim CT26
Upgraded Ignition
11psi
Intake

You must of never drove in a 3S powerd celica Ghost....That or you were high when you wer...



St185: That is me bidding on that ECU already :D thanx tho......OOOO Yea if someone else outbids me i will hunt them down and stab them in the jugular with a rusted butter knife :bigthumbu

JDM185
10-17-2005, 12:33 AM
sorry grumpy, you want me to remove the link??

alltracman78
10-17-2005, 12:45 AM
Muahahahaha
Too late!
I'm gonna outbid his arse.....

























:D
jk

GRUMPY514
10-17-2005, 01:34 AM
hahaha i thoght you were being serious for a minute there :) was about to bring out the handy rusty butter knife :D


185: If you could please :)

alltracman78
10-17-2005, 02:10 AM
You guys......

Punisher
10-17-2005, 02:57 AM
You guys......

NEED TO STFU!!!

lol.. I want my 3sgte :(

This brings to question.. what our the options for an LSD tranny for the 5th gen?

xeril
10-17-2005, 04:22 AM
hahah, i'm still tempted to call a bs on the speed you attained in whatever gears. but dude, we should throw a meet in the area. i'm sure we could get a few celicas to show up. you, me, daklieb, playr158, your brother, to name a few.

GlHlOST
10-17-2005, 04:26 AM
yea a East Coast meet and cruise would be kool... I always wanted to organize a rally... Possibly cross-country.

alltracman78
10-17-2005, 04:51 AM
This brings to question.. what our the options for an LSD tranny for the 5th gen?

You have to ask?
After being on the site so long?

V6 Camry or 93 ^ MR2....

xeril
10-17-2005, 04:54 AM
there is an lsd for the camry tranny?

GRUMPY514
10-18-2005, 01:53 AM
:thefinger

Vid Posted right outside this room please view for all you non believers :D

Luni
11-02-2005, 04:24 PM
Grumpy a JDM ECU isnt worth 200 bux. I wouldnt pay more than 100-150 for one.

alltracman78
11-02-2005, 06:10 PM
Already handled, you oblivious bum. :D




$200 is a little high....
1 to 150 is what they normally go for.
Have you looked on ebay?

GRUMPY514
11-02-2005, 08:01 PM
Indeed it was i paid 81$ shipped for mine :) Just got one about a week ago :D

GRUMPY514
11-02-2005, 08:02 PM
2 bad migh fucking turbo had to blow. JUST BEFORE

i got my

-Nology hot wires
--JDM ECU

Sucks right?