PDA

View Full Version : wideband o2 sensor



Luni
12-20-2004, 09:15 PM
http://www.urdusa.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=0012&Category_Code=PERF



Check it out, not sure it will work correctly for us, but it seems cheap enough.

ChrisD
12-20-2004, 09:36 PM
I've seen a few mr2 people use that one, they seemed happy with it.

This is the one I'm getting from the GB on alltrac.net: http://www.zeitronix.com/Products/zt2/zt2.htm

Trance4c
12-20-2004, 11:21 PM
http://www.urdusa.com/Merchant2/merchant.mvc?Screen=PROD&Product_Code=0012&Category_Code=PERF



Check it out, not sure it will work correctly for us, but it seems cheap enough.

ya.. I ordered one. its a very nice unit, suggest hit highly! I have as of yet to get it and install right now.. waiting, patiently.. nice piece for sure.

EvilSpeeder
12-21-2004, 12:33 AM
Also check out http://www.techedge.com.au/. I bought the high end version 2.0 but I haven't had a chance to try it out. I've heard nothing but good things. They sell kits and complete units.

Fox-N-It
12-21-2004, 01:54 AM
And for you DIY people. http://www.diy-wb.com/

Lagos
12-21-2004, 02:20 AM
would either of those 2 sensors still output the narrow band signal that our stock ecus want to see?

Snafu
12-21-2004, 02:35 AM
^^ these don't replace our stock o2 sensor. I believe wideband o2 sensors don't have as long as a life, and should primarily be used for tuning. You'd weld in another bung into your exhaust.


Man, all I really want is a small kit, and to be able to use an autometer gauge ment for narrow band. I've been looking through these sites, do any of them have that package offer?

Fox-N-It
12-21-2004, 02:36 AM
would either of those 2 sensors still output the narrow band signal that our stock ecus want to see?

I think they have analog outputs but the stock ECU is not calibrated to the voltage output of the WB sensors. The outputs are for logging via laptop or for a hand held viewer. The outputs are also used for those with standalone that supports WB sensors.

Fox-N-It
12-21-2004, 02:39 AM
Man, all I really want is a small kit, and to be able to use an autometer gauge ment for narrow band. I've been looking through these sites, do any of them have that package offer?

A narrowband guage wont work for a WB sensor.

Tuning isn't cheap. Keep that in mind.

Hooligan
12-21-2004, 03:12 AM
The link Luni posted says that they offer a retrofit kit for $30 to make your narrowband read wideband.

Trance4c
12-21-2004, 03:18 AM
Actually.. yes, these sensors can have the signal modified to be used for the narrow band signal into the ecu. This is how I intent to run my setup.

Snafu
12-21-2004, 05:22 AM
That sounds interesting. What do you benefit from doing it this way?

I've always though of a wideband as a device for tuning, not something to be in the car all the time.

EvilSpeeder
12-21-2004, 02:31 PM
That sounds interesting. What do you benefit from doing it this way?

I've always though of a wideband as a device for tuning, not something to be in the car all the time.

Times are a changin. Thats not really the case anymore. The sensor I have is an OEM volkswagen part and should outlive my stock o2 sensors. Like clayton said, my wideband unit outputs a 'simulated narrowband' signal and can be used for anything the stock sensors were.

ChrisD
12-21-2004, 06:34 PM
Evilspeeder: what brand/model of sensor does yours use?

EvilSpeeder
12-21-2004, 10:00 PM
This is the unit I have. (http://wbo2.com/2b0/default.htm)

It uses a Bosch LSU '7057' sensor. Here (http://wbo2.com/lsu/default.htm) is some more info on the sensor.

Snafu
12-21-2004, 10:17 PM
Times are a changin. Thats not really the case anymore. The sensor I have is an OEM volkswagen part and should outlive my stock o2 sensors. Like clayton said, my wideband unit outputs a 'simulated narrowband' signal and can be used for anything the stock sensors were.

Yeah, I for sure get that part, but why would you rather have your wideband send out a "narrowband" signal, than just leaving your stocker up to the task?

EvilSpeeder
12-22-2004, 12:34 AM
Well, in my case it's because the stock o2 sensors are flange type and I don't want to have to incorporate them into the DP. It's easier to have one bung type, than three flange type. The WB is also a heated sensor whereas my stock one wire sensors are not. I've had problems in other cars with the sensor farthest downstream not retaining enough eat for a proper idle (miata) without a heated sensor.

Fenix
12-22-2004, 02:52 AM
I've just installed an LM-1 into mine.
www.tuneyourengine.com

So far i'm very happy with it.

ChrisD
12-22-2004, 03:40 AM
This is the unit I have. (http://wbo2.com/2b0/default.htm)

It uses a Bosch LSU '7057' sensor. Here (http://wbo2.com/lsu/default.htm) is some more info on the sensor.

I am pretty sure thats the one included in my kit. I will find out when it arrives, the web site just says Bosch LSU.